Posted by: leahrenee | November 25, 2009

Camille-Pierre Pambu Bodo

The River Delight
Le fleuve de délice

This painting was created in 2001 by Camille-Pierre Pambu Bodo, known simply as Bodo, who hails from the Democratic Republic of Congo.  It is entitled Le fleuve de délice, which translated means River of Delights.  Bodo became a Pentecostal preacher in 1980 and several of his paintings have themes involving abandoning the practice of sorcery, which is still common in this area.  His style of painting progressed in the 1990’s and began to express his ideas via symbolism and fantasy, which was strongly influenced by his dreams.  I chose this piece because I found Bodo’s style of surrealism appealing; this piece resembles the works of Hieronymous Bosch, another painter I found intriguing and had previously blogged.  The strange creatures and positions of the people in this painting are fascinating, and it allows the viewer to form their own opinions of what this painting is insinuating.   


Responses

  1. This is a very interesting painting you choose. I like the vibrant colors in it. I agree it is very surrealistic. Its hard for me to see the picture real well. But I think I see a fish with human legs, a person swimming in a bottle, and fish flying in the sky as well as a human flying. There is a lot of naked people too. The painting seems futuristic in a way. I wonder what the message of the painting is? Interesting indeed. Sometimes I think artist’s have odd ways of expressing themselves. Your choice made for a interesting and thought provoking blog!

  2. At first when I looked at this piece it reminded me of the Bosch piece, Garden of Earthly Delights. Nice blog and a great piece. I liked your the information you had about the piece, and I liked how you mentioned how it resembled a Bosch piece. I think this is a great piece just because how much is going on throughout the piece. What do you think Bodo was trying to convey in this piece?

  3. This painting is very interesting. I feel like a quick glance at this painting and you won’t be able to understand the full message. It is a great piece of artwork. I really like your blog about it. Its always nice to know a little of the background behind the painter. It helps to understand where they are coming from with the painting. You did a great job!


Leave a comment

Categories